Selfies

Asian woman taking self portrait selfie photo on Europe travel.I’m going to come right out and say it: I think selfies are silly. There. I said it out loud.

I feel justified in saying it after Prince Harry told a group of admiring onlookers in Australia “…selfies are bad. Just take a normal photograph.” So, the dashing prince said what a lot of us have always thought.

  • Offer to take a photo for a stranger in front of that famous monument. They’ll likely offer to do the same for you.

  • Many museums and galleries have banned the taking of selfies, especially the use of selfie sticks. Think about it.

  • Distorted selfie faces are an insult to true photography. With that expensive phone or camera don’t you expect a quality photo?

  • Do you really want to appear that self-absorbed?

  • Your friends aren’t anxiously awaiting another fish face of you.

I concede, there may be the odd time when a taking a selfie is justified:

  • You’ve just made it to the North Pole and there isn’t anyone else to take your photograph leaning against the red and white striped pole.

  • You really want a lopsided photo of the Acropolis with your distorted head and massive hands in the foreground.

I could go on with the justification examples, but you get the picture.

I doubt the selfie phase will completely pass but it is diminishing. That’s something to smile about.

About etiquetteottawa

Founder and Owner of the Protocol School Of Ottawa
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Selfies

  1. karenhickman says:

    Well said, Suzanne. How wonderful that Prince Harry is on board with eliminating “selfies” I have always thought that selfies were bordering on narcissism. The trend will probably never go away completely, but maybe we will see a significant decline.

    • Thanks Karen.
      I remember the first time I saw someone taking a selfie. It was before cell phone cameras and I wondered what he was trying to do. I thought, why not just ask me to take your photo?

Leave a Reply

