Backwards Dinner

For several years I have wanted to create a backwards dinner for my visiting nieces and nephews. That is, a main course that looks like dessert, and dessert that looks like a main course. Channelling my inner child?

I’ve put it off for a few reasons.:

It requires thought and effort.

What if the children thought it was silly.

What if it looked more like a dog’s dinner than a backwards dinner.

Well, this was the year. If I postponed much longer this visiting crew might consider themselves too old to engage in such silliness. Their aunt and uncle would, of course, never be too old for such silliness.

They immediately agreed to having dessert first. Even their dad didn’t take much convincing. It seems everyone is happy with relaxed summer dining.

Here’s the menu:

HORS D’OEUVRES

various tarts (mini quiche)

MAIN COURSE

Frosted cupcakes

Frosted cupcakes

cupcakes with frosting (meatloaf made in muffin tins with whipped sweet potato frosting)

Ice cream with sprinkles

Ice cream with sprinkles

ice cream with sprinkles (whipped potatoes with peas sprinkled throughout)

caramel sauce (gravy)

Jelly Bellys

Jelly Bellys

Jelly Belly beans (bean salad with added rectangles of red, green, yellow, and orange peppers)

.

DESSERT

Sliders

Sliders

sliders (half of a two-bite brownie between vanilla wafers, icing condiments)

Pizza

Pizza

pizza (almond cream cheese on cookie base, circles of fruit, warm strawberry jam glaze)

.

.

.

The hors d’oeures were met with strange looks.

The main course was greeted with exclamations, the three and a half year old indignantly declaring “Not i cream!”

Dessert was eagerly anticipated and speculation began on what it could be.

Was it a success? Yes.

Will I do it again? Yes.

Was it silly? Yes.

Was it a fun, animated meal that family will remember? Yes.

Let us know if you’ve ever created a meal like this. What did you serve? How did you make it? And I’m sure you had as much fun being silly as I did. If you haven’t, I hope I have inspired you to try it. Be silly!

About etiquetteottawa

Founder and Owner of the Protocol School Of Ottawa
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Backwards Dinner

  1. Dawn Stewart says:

    I love it! I wonder if that might be a good solution to getting my boys to eat sweet potatoes? Looks like it’s worth a try!

    • Well, like anything else they can scrape the frosting off the cupcake, but yes, it might just work.Guaranteed the sliders and pizza will disappear.
      Let me know if you try it. Thanks.

  2. karenhickman says:

    This is such a fun idea, Suzanne. I think I need to try this with the little ones in our family.

  3. Alessandro says:

    this is a funny idea Suzanne. I see that the effortt you put together it’s relevant. My compliments for the results. Wow!

Leave a Reply

